Category: Motorsports

Posts related to Motorsports

[dropcap style=”style1″]B[/dropcap]ehind the wheel of the Perry Performance Nissan 240, the events first place qualifier, Marc Landreville, emerged victorious in a one-more-time battle with Nate Hamilton after his Enjuku Racing / Fortune Auto Nissan 240 suffered mechanical issues during the final round of the 2016 Formula Drift PRO2 series held at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park. The win secured Landreville as the series 2016 Champion.

_dsc1601“The event was great,” Landreville said. “The car was great and I had some excellent drivers to go up against, so that made for tremendous competition to end the season on a high note.”

Dirk Stratton in the Lingenfelter Performance C6 Corvette placed third in the series’ first ever stand-alone PRO2 event, which played host to thousands of spectators and over 120,000 live stream viewers. The Arizona event also marked [...]

[dropcap style=”style1″]T[/dropcap]he final round of the 2016 Southwest Drift series hosted by Vegas Drift granted Blake Olsen, Bear Rzesnowiecky, and Andy Hateley with podium finishes for the event and secured their spots as the 2016 series champions. Olsen took both the events top qualifier position and the overall event win in the final battle against Rzesnowiecky, both Olsen and Rzesnowiecky earned their Pro 2 licenses by finishing in the series top three with points. Hateley earned third place at the event but took home the series championship and will make his return to the Formula Drift Pro2 class for the 2017 season.

Top 16 Drivers – Top 16 Battles – 2016 Southwest Drift Round Four winners –


2016 Southwest drift series champions –


[dropcap style=”style1″]T[/dropcap]he final round of the 2016 Southwest Drift Series takes place alongside the final round of Formula Drifts Pro2 series in Phoenix, Arizona, at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park. September 30 marked the first day in the two day drift event, and saw drivers competing against themselves to qualify in the Top 16.

The following ProAM drivers will battle in the Top 16:

  • Blake Olsen – 85 points
  • Bear Rzesnowiecky – 84 points
  • Kasey Kohl – 83 points
  • Mark Sanchez – 80 points
  • Traverse Hilsabeck – 79 points
  • Andy Hateley – 75 points
  • Austin Kregle – 70 points
  • Tony Chard – 66 points
  • Seth Wright – 64 points
  • Preston Watson – 63 points
  • George Kiriakopoulos – 61 points
  • Andrew Schulte – 56 points

[dropcap style=”style1″]T[/dropcap]he first Arizona event in the 2016 Southwest Drift series, hosted by VegasDrift, took place in Tucson at the Musselman Honda Circuit – a track made for go-kart racing. The Tucson track, like others used in the series, was chosen to help competitors develop their skills on a variety of course configurations in an effort to earn a Formula Drift Pro 2 license.

_DSC6280Local up-and-coming drifters and aspiring Formula Drift drivers earn points put towards their overall standings by qualifying for each round’s Top 16 battles and awarded based on their performance in the Top 16. At the conclusion of the series, the license is awarded to the top three drivers with the most overall points.

“The Southwest Drift series is the best Formula D Pro-AM series in the United States” said Matt Haugen, who emerged victorious [...]

[dropcap style=”style1″]M[/dropcap]att Haugen emerged victorious in his thousand-horsepower Hyundai Genesis, securing first place in Round Three of the 2016 Southwest Drift series hosted by VegasDrift after a head-to-head battle with the days’ number one qualifier, Andy Hateley, in his supercharged LS3 BMW E30.

_DSC8156“It was awesome winning in my home state,” Haugen told Car Street Journal, adding the win “couldn’t have been more perfect because more of my friends and family were able to make it and it was fun to really put a show on for them.”

Having lost to Haugen, Hateley secured a second place podium finish while Arizona driver, Andrew Schulte, earned the final podium position in his LS2 powered 1993 Nissan 240SX after a battle with Mike Burns.

“We needed to hold it down for the Arizona drift scene and that’s exactly what [...]

Editorial Note: This is the fourth in a series of articles following Andrew Schulte through the multi-state Formula Drift sanctioned 2016 Southwest Drift series hosed by VegasDrift. Photography by Hans Marquez.

Earning a third place finish, Andrew Schulte took hold of his first podium finish of the season in his 1993 Nissan 240SX during Round Three of the 2016 Southwest Drift series hosted by VegasDrift.

During the first round of the series, Schulte qualified in 16th position resulting in a head-to-head battle against the number one qualifier. Calm and confident, Schulte was not going to give him and easy victory.

_DSC6605Schulte qualified in 14th position during Round Two of the series, earning a battle against the event [...]

Back to top