Latest Industry News

Round One: Streets of Long Beach | Formula Drift 2015 | Top 32

Written by Nicole James

Photographed by Matthew Fink

The Top 32:

1. Forrest Wang
2. Chris Forsberg
3. Fredric Aasbo
4. Vaughn Gittin Jr.
5. Jutin Pawlak
6. Alec Hohnadell
7. Ryan Tuerck
8. Matt Field
9. Dai Yoshihara
10. Dan Savage
11. Tyler McQuarrie
12. Odi Bakchis
13. Pat Goodin
14. Geoff Stoneback
15. Dave Briggs
16. Robbie Nishida
17. Daigo Saito
18. Pat Mordaunt
19. Ken Gushi
20. Charles Ng
21. Conrad Grunewald
22. Marc Landerville
23. Kristaps Bluss
24. Kyle Mohan
25. Kenneth Moen
26. Dean Kearney
27. Chelsea Denofa
28. Tanner Foust
29. Nate Hamilton
30. Masashi Yokoi
31. Jeff Jones
32. Matt Coffman

After a long and competitive day, the top 32 drivers were chosen to go on to the main event as part of day two of Round One: Streets of Long Beach in the 2015 Formula Drift series. A total 42 drivers had come out to participate, including some from over seas. The competition was fierce but all of the hard work, prep, and focus payed off for all 32 drivers, particularly in the case of Forest Wang.

Forest Wang told CSJ that being the top qualifier is “Amazing. Definitely a great feeling. A lot of work went into prepping for this season and its good to see all that hard work pay off.” Forest Wang got a score of 97.


“I got 2nd today.” Chris Forsberg, qualifying at number two, told CSJ. “I’m feeling great, but Forest bumped me down. He had a great run but I’m ready to get back out there tomorrow.” Chris Forsberg got a score of 94.

IMG_4238-1_wmVaughn Gittin Jr. qualified as number four and told CSJ “Today was awesome. We stuck to our strategy and its a challenging course where we are flirting and wanting to just kiss the walls, but ultimately that means you are flirting with destroying your car.”¬† Vaughn Gittin Jr. got a score of 90.

IMG_4366-1_wmMaking a comeback into Formula Drift was Tanner Foust who qualified as 28th out of the top 32. As part of an exclusive interview with CSJ he reported that the car had a tire blow out during his practice run, after running on a set of Nittos for the 7th time, which caused quite a bit of damage. “We missed the first qualifying session but managed to get the car to limp through the second and qualify.” Tanner Foust got a score of 67.

Tomorrow, April 11th the gates will open to the public at 10:00 am and the main competition will begin at 11:00 am. The top 16 rounds will begin at 3:30 pm with the closing ceremony at 5:30.


Back to top