Saturday, April 30, Matt O’Connor organized his fourth Supercar run in Arizona to Prescott. Lamborghini’s participated in the run along side Nissan GT-R’s, Ferrari’s, Maserati’s and other capable vehicles for a total of 50 participating cars.

The run began at the Scottsdale Vault at 9:00 a.m. with a drivers meeting shortly after to go over the route.

The journey to Prescott took around two hours and consisted of mountain grades, twists and turns. All the the participants seemed to have enjoyed the drive as the group arrived at Cracker Barrel, in Prescott, to enjoy lunch.

At the conclusion of lunch the group split into several smaller groups based on the area of the Phoenix they were returning to.

Photography by Matthew Fink

Held at the Royal Purple Raceway in Baytown, Texas, TX2K is an event that was developed to simulate what would go down during a highway street racing battle.

For Tx2K16, entries were limited to around 130 cars that are narrowed down to the top 16 qualified cars in three classes: Unlimited, Super Sport and Sport. Elimination rounds consist of two cars using 700 feet of the strip to get up to 60 mph before the start flags. At the marked start, each car can be no more than a half a car length apart and must be within five miles per hour of each other or a re-race occurs. The race then travels 1,500 feet to finish, however the total length covered is 3200 feet.

TX2K trap speeds ranged from 165 mph to 200 mph, depending on class.

Photography by Jose Pineda


Simon Pagenaud dominated the 2016 Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park, earning his second straight win of 2016.

Driving the No. 22 PPG Automotive Refinish Chevrolet, Pagenaud led all but six of the 90 laps around the 2.3-mile permanent road course and took the checkered flag 13.747 seconds ahead of runner-up Graham Rahal in the No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda.

With the win, Pagenaud has accumulated 188 points in the first quarter of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season and holds a 48-point advantage over Scott Dixon.

The series turns its attention now to Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the historic month of May that includes the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the IMS road course on May 14, followed by much-awaited 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil on the legendary 2.5-mile oval May 29.


Hosted by the Art of Speed Events, Kilts and Kars is a monthly open car show staged at the Tilted Kilt in Boca Raton, Florida. What separates this car show from your typical local car show is the welcome diversity among show attendees and the cars on display. We saw an array of classic cars with seemingly every sub-culture within the hobby represented.

This diversity can be attributed to the hosts. At the helm of Art of Speed Events is John Zeilinga, chief executive and founder. Based in South Florida, Zeilinga said his mission is to produce car shows and racing events. He and his company also produce private-label car shows for local business’ and car clubs.

In addition to Kilts and Kars, Zeilinga organizes the Palm Beach Cars and Coffee events, which may be the largest cars-and-coffee gathering in the country with an estimates 2000 cars in attendance each month.

Other events Zeilinga

In the final lap of the Toyota Owners 400 Sprint Cup race, Carl Edwards ran up on the rear of Kyle Busch’s car in Turn 4, executed a bump-and-run that pushed the No. 18 up the track, allowing Edwards to go by and take the victory leaving Busch with a second place finish  at Richmond International Raceway.

The win was Edwards’ second in a row, having won the previous week at Bristol Motor Speedway, “I was just so much faster I had to give him a little tap, and we got by him,” Edwards said. “I didn’t think I was going to get him hard enough. I thought it would just be a bump-and-go, but we got the win.”

Edwards, who led a race-high 151 laps, admitted there was some hesitation whether to get physical with Busch, but with each owning victories and with Busch appearing to slow in final corner, Edwards felt he should do whatever

GT cars, or Grand Touring cars have big shoes to fill. A compromised package, the role of a GT car requires it to be comfortable, fast, attractive, and reliable. A good GT car, by definition needs to be able to traverse hundreds of miles briskly while offering a rewarding driving experience. So with that being said, and with all the options on the market, what makes a good GT car? Where are the lines blurred between a GT car and a Sports car? Finally, what car makes for a well-rounded GT?

Well first we need to look at the definition of what a GT car is. Definitions range from overly detailed to vague. “A Grand Tourer is a high performance and luxury automobile capable of high speed or spirited long-distance driving. The most common format is a two-door coupé with either a two seat or a 2+2 arrangement.” Other definitions include “a usually 2-passenger

Back to top