Latest Industry News

Talkington sets new world speed record at Strictly Diesel NHRDA Desert Diesel Nationals 2016

[dropcap style=”style1″]C[/dropcap]locked at 111.58 miles per hour, Wayne Talkington set a new Hot Rod Semi world speed record in his 1963 Kenworth 921 on May 1 at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park during the Strictly Diesel NHRDA Desert Diesel Nationals.

According to Talkington Motorsports, the Kenworth used to compete was purchased for $650 in 1998 by Wayne’s father, John Talkington, specifically to race after having raced road trucks for fun. The truck endured a redesign to appear as it is today, featuring a custom built twin turbo Detroit engine with Nitrous Oxide, mated to a 740 Allison automatic transmission. In an effort to improve aerodynamics, the the hood was extended and lightened to accommodate the Detroit engine, while maintaining the Classic Kenworth Look. Additionally, the front axel was changed to aluminum and the rear end was switched out to an Eaton, which improved safety for racing purposes.

7349Shortly after John had purchased the truck, Wayne competed in his first race at Truck Thunder with a 16 second finish time. Since that race in 1999, Wayne has competed in over 20 races and set numerous records in diesel drag racing.

In addition to setting a new world speed record at the event, Wade Talkington was also named winning Hot Rod with a 12.207 time at 110.59 mph against Frank Fierro and his ’65 Peterbilt during the final elimination round.

The Desert Diesel Nationals allowed each diesel drag racer three runs prior to the start of the elimination rounds to determine Top Diesel, Pro Stock Diesel, Hot Rod, Big Rig, and Super Street Diesel and others.

Wade Moody in a 2005 Spitzer was the only competitor for Top Diesel and earned the title with the best time of 7.321 at 180.75 mph.

Jarid Vollmer in a 1941 Willys went head-to-head with Dallas Theobald in a 1997 Dodge Dakota for the Pro Stock Diesel title. Theobald ran a 8.340 at 161.23 mph for the win.

_7778Charnie Disher was victorious in the Big Rig bracket with her 1952 Kenworth Needlenose, running a 20.193 at 57.32 mph on a 16.50 dial against Bradler Culleton in his 1992 Peterbilt 379, who ran a 22.389 at 59.23 mph on a 19.50 dial.

Other winners during the event included Larry Strawn earning victory in the 10.90 Diesel class in a 1931 Dodge, Ross Dunagan took the title of Super Diesel in his 2006 F-250, Scott McKinstry was named victorious in the Sportsman Diesel class in his ’08 Duramax 2500 HD.

Just before the final round of racing for the day to determine the winner of the Super Street Diesel class, a dust storm rolled across the track causing a slight delay, however the WHP Motorsports Park track staff cleaned the track quickly so that Wade Minter in a 2006 Chevrolet could go head to head with Chris Buhidar in his 2000 Ford F-350. Buhidar took the win running a 9.665 at 128.85 mph pass while Minter ran a 9.677 at 116.01 mph.

After the conclusion of the eliminating race rounds, fans directed their attention to the burnout contest where competitors were eliminated by overheating or unable to spin the wheels for a full 45 seconds. Jim Disher managed to spin all four tires in the burnout box with his chopped ’71 Kenworth K-100 and took the win.

Other event highlights included a truck and tractor pull on a 300 foot course and an awards ceremony.

Photography by James Sasser


Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Back to top